## AUSTRALIAN GO ASSOCIATION

P.O. Box 226, Alderley Q'ld 4051. Telephone 07-2667113

<u>Council Members:</u> Neville Smythe (President), Bill Leveritt (Secretary), Clive Davies (Treasurer), Dae Hahn, David Evans, John Hardy (Membership Registrar).

To:

All Australian Go Clubs and Personal Members of the AGA.

From:

Bill Leveritt, Secretary AGA.

Date:

12th July 1983.

## 1983 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

The Fifth Annual General Meeting of the AGA will be held during the Sixth Australian Go Championships which are to be held in St. John's College, University of Sydney on the 27th and 28th August 1983.

The Agenda for the meeting is as follows:

- The Chairman of the meeting will request all members present who are holding proxy votes to lodge such proxy forms with the Secretary and Membership Registrar for confirmation. (For the benefit of members a suitable form of proxy is attached to this agenda).
- Confirmation of the minutes of the 4th Annual General Meeting of the AGA held on Saturday 4th September 1982. (These minutes were distributed to all Clubs and Personal members during October 1982).
- 3. Business arising from the minutes:-
  - (a) To confirm item 3(b) of the minutes of the 1982 AGM relating to the granting of permission to use the name Australian Go Association (Melbourne) only until 4th September 1983 unless an application for the formation of a Branch of the AGA is received by that date.
  - (b) Any other business arising from the minutes.
- 4. Presentation of the following reports:
  - (a) President's Report.
  - (b) Treasurer's Report.
  - (c) Membership Registrar's Report
  - (d) Reports from Subcommitees:

Grading subcommittee
Constitution subcommittee
Selection subcommittee
Tournament subcommittee
Sponsorship subcommittee.

5. Election of the Council of the Association, to consist of the following:

President

Treasurer

Secretary

Two members

Membership Registrar (which may be held in conjunction with any other office).

Please note: persons wishing to serve on the Council must either be present at the meeting or have previously indicated in writing their willingness to accept nomination.

6. To create and/or dissolve subcommittees of the AGA, and to elect members to serve on each subcommittee. The exisiting subcommittees are as follows:

Grading subcommittee (currently Dae Hahn, John Chen)
Constitution subcommittee (currently Bill Leveritt)

Selection subcommittee (currently all members of the AGA Council) Tournament subcommittee (currently Neville Smythe, Bill Leveritt) Sponsorship subcommittee (currently Clive Davies, Phillip Hingston, John Hardy)

To consider the following Constitution amendment proposed by Clive Davies: 7.

That the following clauses be added to Section 7 of the Constitution:

- "7.12 The Council will determine the rules and conditions of play to be used in each such Tournament, including the number of rounds, the time limit per round, the number of divisions and the rankings of players allowed to compete in each division.
- The Council will appoint, for each such Tournament, an AGA member to act as non-playing 7.13 Tournament Director who shall be in sole charge of the conduct of the Tournament, and who shall abide by the rules and conditions as laid down by the Council.
- In the event of any dispute arising during any such Tournament, a subcommittee consisting of the Tournament Director together with the two highest ranked AGA members present not themselves invoved in the dispute will be formed for the sole purpose of considering and resolving such dispute. The decision of the subcommittee will be final."

(Secretary's Note - Section 7 refers to the holding of a Tournament or Tournaments each year to select the "Australian Go Champion" and the "Australian Open Go Champion").

- To consider a location and date for the 1984 Seventh Australian Go Championships.

).	Any other business.
	Bill Leveritt, Secretary.
-	PROXY FORM Date: / /1983
	I,
W 4000 0400	DDOWN FORM
	PROXY FORM Date: / /1983
	I, being a financial member of the Australian Go Association for the Year ending 31st December 1983, and being unable to attend the Annual General Meeting, do hereby appoint, or in his absence, the Chairman of the meeting, to vote for me at the Annual General Meeting.
	Signed: