David Mitchell 1, Wilshire Ave, Cronulla, NSW, 2230 email:secretary@AustralianGo.asn.au Tel:(+61) 02 9523 0283 Mob: 0413 080 900

Minutes of the 2017 AGA AGM

The meeting was held at The Go Congress, Room 2290, H70, Abercrombie St & Codrington St, Darlington NSW 2006.

The meeting opened at 5:00pm, Friday 29th September 2017.

David Mitchell chaired the meeting and recorded the minutes.

- 1. Apologies were recorded from Erli Qiu, Yoko Usami and Mark Ahn
- 2. The minutes of the previous meeting were read. DGM moved the minutes be accepted as a true record; Tony Purcell seconded the motion. The proposal was passed unopposed

3. Reports

- a. There was no President's report
- b. The Treasurer's report is attached.
 - i. The key points were the investment of \$431 to purchase 'The Surrounding Game' movie which will be shown in clubs in Queensland, Victoria and NSW.
 - ii. The Digital tournament will be held in December so there was no income of expense for that yet.
 - iii. The sale of lapel pins was slow but steady.
 - iv. The overall financial position was slightly up with enough in the bank to cover approx. 10 years of expenditure.
- c. The Secretary' report is attached.

4. Election of office bearers

- a. The meeting thanked the existing office bearers for their efforts over the past year.
- b. Nominations for the role of President were opened
 - i. DGM proposed Raphael Shin; James Kaaden seconded the motion; there being no other candidates Raphael was elected unopposed.
- c. Nominations for the role of Treasurer were opened
 - i. Anthony Purcell proposed Horatio Davis; Neville Smythe seconded the motion. There being no other nominations Horatio was elected unopposed.
 - ii. Horatio took control of the meeting for the election of Secretary
- d. Nominations for the role of Secretary were opened
 - i. James Kaaden proposed David Mitchell; Anthony Purcell seconded the nomination; There being no other nominations David was elected unopposed.
 - ii. David Mitchell took control of the meeting.



Australian Go Association

David Mitchell 1, Wilshire Ave, Cronulla, NSW, 2230 email:secretary@AustralianGo.asn.au Tel:(+61) 02 9523 0283 Mob: 0413 080 900

- 5. Matthew Crossman asked if he could understudy the role of Treasurer from Horatio. Horatio agreed.
- 6. Nominations for the five committee members were opened.
 - a. Neville Smythe proposed James Kaaden; Horatio Davis seconded
 - b. James Kaaden proposed Daniel Li; Horatio Davis seconded
 - c. Horatio Davis proposed Allan Hunt, David Mitchell seconded
 - d. Neville Smythe propose Erli Qiu David Bofinger seconded
 - e. David Mitchell proposed Matthew Crossman, Horatio Davis seconded.
 - f. There were no other nominations so all candidates were elected unopposed to the AGA Committee.
- 7. A proposal to incorporate the AGA (full proposal attached).

There was a long debate on the subject. Concerns were raised about the amount of work and possible fines if things were not done on time. Some of the key points were:

- a. Horatio Davis pointed out that our current membership list missed contact details (postal address, email address etc) for a large number of members the work to do this would take away from the Committee's Go tasks.
- b. Anthony Purcell said that the collection of this information should be carried out by Go organizers around the country, not the committee.
- c. NS suggested there should be a Membership Registrar to coordinate and manage membership records. This was accepted by the meeting.
- d. Matthew Crossman volunteered for the role. The offer was accepted unopposed.
- e. Allan Hunt was concerned the effort of incorporation would not benefit clubs
- f. The motion was put to a vote there were 2 against, 14 in favour. Email voting was 0 against 29 in favour (votes recorded below). The motion was passed 43 in favour 2 against.

8. Any other business

- a. David Bofinger and Anthony Purcell are attending tournaments in China and Korea and asked that the information be sent to all AGA members. Any responses should be sent to Anthony Purcell. Raphael Shin knew of some people from the SKBA who were going so David and Anthony will liaise with Raphael. DGM reported that information of both event had already been sent to members but there were no other attendees at this time. Any enquiries will be sent to David and Anthony.
- b. Horatio Davis reported that the Australian Digital Tournament will be held in December. This was one of the most popular events on the tournament calendar and players and organizers were encouraged to participate.
- c. Matthew Crossman and Anthony Purcell agreed to help Horatio with the next Digital Tournament so that others can run the event in future.



Australian Go Association

David Mitchell 1, Wilshire Ave, Cronulla, NSW, 2230 email:secretary@AustralianGo.asn.au Tel:(+61) 02 9523 0283 Mob: 0413 080 900

- d. Neville Smythe proposed a vote of thanks to Allan Hunt for the survey carried out a few months ago; seconded by David Mitchell. The motion was carried unopposed. Horatio agreed to publish the results on the AGA server along with David Mitchell's analysis of some 'free text' answers.
- e. Neville Smythe proposed a vote of thanks to Raphael for his support of The Go Congress and Go in Australia; seconded by James Kaaden. The motion was passed unopposed.

The meeting closed at 6:11pm

The next AGM will be held at the National Championships in Brisbane, December 2018 (the exact date and location will be provided once available).





Australian Go Association

David Mitchell 1, Wilshire Ave, Cronulla, NSW, 2230 email:secretary@AustralianGo.asn.au Tel:(+61) 02 9523 0283 Mob: 0413 080 900

Members present at the meeting:

Allan Hunt	An Younggil	Matthew Crossman
Markus Pache	Raphael Shin	Tony Oxenham
Anthony Purcell	David Bofinger	Huazen Liu
Yuhan Zhang	Bowen Ge	Cary Jin
Bekki Yu	Daniel Li	David Mitchell
Hoario Davis	Neville Smythe	

Email votes for Incorporation proposal received prior to the meeting:

Member			Member		
No.	Member name	vote	No.	Member name	vote
09-002	Bill Leveritt	y	16-024	Daniel Li	y
09-093	Cindy Xu	у	16-030	Hong Wanpyo	y
09-100	Yoon Gook Noh	y	16-054	Sukwan Shin	y
09-105	Hak Beom Seo	y	16-082	Lesley Qiu	y
09-106	Won Joong Lee	y	16-084	Bowen Ge	y
10-037	Chulhwan Choi	y	16-085	Jerry Xu	y
10-045	Dae Hyun Cho	y	16-087	Zilong Zheng	y
12-028	Yu Won Kim	y	16-146	Xu Chu	y
13-022	Huazhen Liu	y	16-162	Jimmy Nguyen	y
13-045	Mark Ahn	y	17-030	Steven Siswandhi	y
14-011	Jay Rie	y	17-062	Zhumin Yu	y
14-013	Jinyeon Jung	y	17-108	JungWoo Lee	y
14-037	Joseph Jeon	y	17-078	Lawrence Tsui	y
15-011	Hwasoo Kim	y	16-022	Radman Zhang	y
15-052	Richard Yeh	y			